I’ve given this considerable thought. As I guess most people have. But the word Welfare implies that there is an impartation of benefit. See definition:

wel·fare/ˈwɛlˌfɛər/

–noun 1.the good fortune, health, happiness, prosperity, etc., of a person, group, or organization; well-being: to look after a child’s welfare; the physical or moral welfare of society.

The Federal Government has authority to “promote the general wefare”. It is one of the few enumerated, or counted, powers granted to The Federal Government by The US Constitution. The Food Stamps Program is suppose to be about “welfare”. It is suppose to be about nutrition, right? Well, common sense and casual observation tells me that we are helping to create a BUNCH of Juvenile Diabetics, this is far from beneficial.

When I go to the grocery store, especially when I go towards the first of the month, I see a BUNCH of BIG women with BIG children pushing grocery carts loaded with sugary “treats” and BIG loads of FAT Food. I kind of feel like I am an accomplish to suicide because I know that, in many cases, I contributed to the fund from which that basket is paid. Mark my words, Diabetes is a methodical, debilitating, and often expensive killer. Very expensive when you consider the “welfare” of the poor child who is an innocent victim of other people’s ignorance. I believe that a major epidemic is lurking, just around the corner. It saddens me. Reminds me of the maxim: The road to hell is paved with good intentions.

